I am new to ServUO, though I have been working, off and on, on a RunUO server for a few years now. My interest in actually finishing and releasing my shard was renewed recently.

I started my Ultima journey many years ago, in 1991, or 1992, with Ultima V. After this I played through III and IV. Ultima V remains my favorite of the Ultimas (and my favorite CRPG), though I have not taken the opportunity to play subsequent Ultimas. I also played Ultima Online from 1997 until early 1999, and remain a huge fan of the Ultima universe and lore, and I have played briefly on a few private shards over the years.

I had intended to post this on the RunUO homepage, and used to post there fairly frequently, but it appears to have closed. I have been working on my own RunUO shard on and off for a few years. I am no programmer or artist, though I did teach myself enough to implement most of my desired features, including modifying the map, putting several systems in place, modifying other systems (class system, guild system, quite a few others), creating some gumps, etc. I have invested quite a lot of hours to learning code and such, to implementing these features, and to getting the game world to look and feel the way I want. I likewise had quite a bit of help from members of the RunUO community. My shard has a very specific theme, focus and aesthetic, and is not intended to attract an enormous player base (200 max, though it will almost certainly be less than this). It is quite possible it will attract no one except me. It is likewise not a terribly ambitious project compared to some shards I have seen, though it is a bit of a niche project, focused to a great extent on creating and maintaining a certain atmosphere and aesthetic.