I have noticed that the ServUO Repo seems to be updated fairly regularly, which indicates to me that it is in active development. However beyond just downloading the zip-file on the repo I have no real experience with GitHub.

So with that said, I have two questions.

What is the best way to keep my server up-to-date with new changes to ServUO without having to download a new zip-file and configure every time I want to update?

Can this be done without messing up any custom scripts and add-ons I may be using?

Thanks in advance. :)

I recommend looking at this video:

https://www.servuo.com/threads/servuo-for-beginners-git-github-and-you.1088/

Especially look at the explanation of the Git process. The author did not use GitHub, but the concepts translate.

He used this image:

upload_2016-2-13_6-11-57.png

He basically describes how you have:

1. Your working directory, which includes files that are not part of the Git source

2. Your staging area, which is all of the files you added to Git but have not committed to the repository

3. Your repository, which is files you have committed, so they are now available to share online, and

4. A remote repository, which is probably the original source of your cloned repository to start with.

You can see from the arrows how the relationships work between the different sections. Anyway, I do recommend watching the video, it's not that long. There are other online tutorials that explain how Git works, but since this one was specific to ServUO, I thought it was appropriate.

I am trying to finally figure out how to do this. I am using the EC (https://github.com/GenerationOfWorlds/ServUO) and they are making a lot of updates - so it is time for me to learn...

I want to make sure I can keep my local copy up to date and not accidentally upload anything to the repo.

I used GitGUI to clone it to my drive.