Im very new to this so these may seem obvious to some so be gentle! :)

So my goal is to create a shard that is set way back to Pub 16 with a few tweaks. I've not done a lot so far as i want to make sure i'm not doing something that not needed.

What im looking to do is have Pub 16 era but still have access to Malas. The other ideas are spawning points and changes ill work on once im actually up and running.

So I've downloaded and unzipped the ServUO program, the latest version of Razor and from the UO site ive downloaded the classic client. My questions are:

1. When I install the UO client do I need to patch it to a certain point or does it need to patch all the way.
2. Is it possible to to have access to the other lands but keep the game mechanics based on Pub 16?

Thanks for any help and advice and im sure ill have other questions in the future!

that will involve some work but lets answer your 2 questions really quick :)
1. You do not have to patch it all the way, but it doesnt hurt either. It will only give you access to all the up to date graphics basically.
2. Yes, you can do that. At least I do not see any reason why not at this point.

Thanks so much for the quick answers PyrO, at least I can get the shard in a working state now, hopefully lol! Got some yard work to do so I'll be gone for a bit. I'll get back on later and finish up the basics and see if everything works right and then see what comes next!
[doublepost=1481500593][/doublepost]Ok so didnt get very far, ive installed the UO client and patched it. I start with the Compile.WIN and it goes through everything and ends with this:

upload_2016-12-11_18-55-36.png

Im doing something wrong.

You are trying to run ServUO as a normal user and normal users cant read files from C:\Program Files (x86) for security reasons.

Run it as a administrator or install UO somewhere else.

-Grim

Ok so I moved the UO folder and everything is on the desk top.

Running the Compile.WIN again and this comes up.