1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Yards/Gardens/Patios/Fences?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by GendR, Jan 24, 2017.

  1. GendR
    Offline

    GendR New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Heyo, so I'm trying to create a new UO type experience and was wondering if it would be possible to create house deeds that include a yard and possibly patios with crafting areas? Maybe fenced in with a gate... I'd want players to be able to lock items down or place add-ons in these areas.

    I plan on doing away with custom housing for various reasons so I'd plan on having numerous styles, sizes and options available if this is a possibility.

    Oh also, I'd rather not have to use GMs to make this happen, just wondering if it is possible to include this space with the deed/placement.
     
  2. Cyrddin
    Offline

    Gold Donator

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    If someone fixed the yard wand from runuo, your problems world be solved. It basically allows the player to create their own yard any way they wish... i have personally been waiting for someone to fix it for awhile..
     
  3. tass23
    Offline

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,006
    Likes Received:
    126
    If you use Knives Townhouses, you can build an entire "house", complete with everything you mentioned, turn the building into an addon...find a location, place the addon, turn it into a townhouse and rent away! ;)

    This is a townhouse that was for rent on my shard, for example:
    TownhouseIlshMountain.jpg
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. sahisahi
    Offline

    sahisahi Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    12
    The rent system from Knives townhouses doesnt seems to work for me. I set it to 1000 gold daily and it doesnt take the gold from the player that rent the house, does this happens to anyone else?
     
  5. tass23
    Offline

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,006
    Likes Received:
    126
    How do you have it set up to take the gold? From the player's bank? (The gold has to be in a pile in that case) or from a ledger/checkbook, or account gold?
    The only issue I had with Knives was the HouseSign problem.
     
  6. sahisahi
    Offline

    sahisahi Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    12
    It takes the gold from the bank if im not wrong, i had a pile of gold yes and still didnt take it. So player can pay rent once and own the house forever.

    When a player pay the first day theres no rental contract.. shouldnt be that way right?

    Or rental contracts are for players to rent their houses?
     
  7. tass23
    Offline

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,006
    Likes Received:
    126
    When the house is set for rent, you should see a small house sign (if you look at the screenshot of the townhouses I uploaded, look just north of the fence around the yard). When you hover over that house sign, it should show you how much it costs to rent it. A player just double-clicks that, agrees to pay XX, and then "gets the keys".
     
  8. sahisahi
    Offline

    sahisahi Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    12
    Yes the sign looks like the one in your screen, it does exactly that, player agrees, the rent price gets taken from bank and player doesnt have to pay the rent ever again :confused:
     
  9. tass23
    Offline

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,006
    Likes Received:
    126
    Do you see this code in your TownHouseSign.cs?
    Code (C#):
    1.  
    2. protected void DeleteTest()
    3.         {
    4.             if ( !Owned || c_House.Deleted )
    5.                 return;
    6.  
    7.             PackUpItems();
    8.             c_House.Owner.BankBox.DropItem( new BankCheck( c_House.Price ) );
    9.         }
    If not, it goes between

    PackUpHouse

    and

    PackUpItems
     
  10. sahisahi
    Offline

    sahisahi Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    12
    i dont have that code

    Code (C#):
    1. protected void PackUpHouse()
    2.         {
    3.             if ( !Owned || c_House.Deleted )
    4.                 return;
    5.  
    6.             PackUpItems();
    7.  
    8.             c_House.Owner.BankBox.DropItem( new BankCheck( c_House.Price ) );
    9.  
    10.             c_House.Delete();
    11.         }
    12.  
    13.         protected void PackUpItems()
    14.         {
    15.             if ( c_House == null )
    16.                 return;
    17.  
    18.             if (c_House.Owner == null || c_House.Owner.BankBox == null)
    19.                 return;
    20.  
    21.             Container bag = new Bag();
    22.             bag.Name = "Pertenencias";
    23.  
    24.             foreach( Item item in new ArrayList( c_House.LockDowns ) )
    25.             {
    26.                 item.IsLockedDown = false;
    27.                 item.Movable = true;
    28.                 c_House.LockDowns.Remove( item );
    29.                 bag.DropItem( item );
    30.             }
    That?

    i sent u the whole townhouses folder, in general.cs theres something commented out.. maybe thats the problem
     
    #10 sahisahi, Jan 28, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2017
  11. GendR
    Offline

    GendR New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    hmm I'll take a look at it and see if I can figure out how to make it work.

    I want players to be able to place their own houses/yards, I'm attempting to make a more "survival" type UO since that seems to be popular and I think UO is the perfect base for it. I do plan on using Knives Townhouses in certain cities I decide to keep on the map. Allowing players to rent the shops there. Very nice townhouse by the way!
     
  12. Rex
    Offline

    Rex Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    14
    Interesting, I'm working on a similar system.
     
  13. tass23
    Offline

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,006
    Likes Received:
    126
    Thank you :)
    Well, players could place their own, you would just have to sell the "plot", and the house deeds. You could make several house plots across your shard to sell or raffle, and then if you make the houses ahead of time and make them into addons, all players need is the deed ;)
     
  14. Fireball
    Offline

    Fireball Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2014
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    7
    Knives is incredibly cool, but houses you create out of statics don't have a circle of transparency which can make things very awkward in dark corners ;-)

    It's great for actual "town houses" though.

    You could also use it just to create a yard for the player, without any structures, but a GM would have to do that for them unless some bright spark writes a deed for them where they can mark an area into a knives town house area ( marked like we do with the [area command) and then charge them x gold per tile for that area. Obviously some checks for bad areas would have to be put in but it would be neat for people to be able to lock down items in their yard.
     
  15. GendR
    Offline

    GendR New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    What kind of system? :D

    I think I've just decided I'm going to create custom house deeds, have different sizes, styles, yards, crafting areas, etc. players can craft those. I'm assuming if I build a fenced in area as part of my "house" and then turn the entire thing into a placeeable house, that would make the "yard" usable, no?
     
  16. tass23
    Offline

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,006
    Likes Received:
    126
    Yes, it would be "part of the house". Just like building a porch on a custom house. Just make sure you include the "yard" area when you are creating the TownHouseArea.

    Also, I usually freeze statics, so circle of transparency works fine ;)
    Unfortunately, you are correct in that CoT doesn't "apply" to statics...only frozen items :(
     
  17. GendR
    Offline

    GendR New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    I actually planned on making them deeds like old style housing, I'd assume I can include the "yard" if it is a fenced in area? The point of the shard I'm making is for it to be a "survival" experience, I don't want to have to have GMs to make a yard, a house or an anything for that matter.
     
  18. tass23
    Offline

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,006
    Likes Received:
    126
    If it's part of the addon, yes. Otherwise, the area(s) you designate for townhouse plots, will have to account for extra tiles for the "yard area". That would be helpful too, so that players weren't limited to the exact dimensions of the area (they could position the house itself in different ways inside the area).
     
  19. demented
    Offline

    demented Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    30
    anyone happen to have a copy of A_Li_N's Yard And Garden System, i looked on Runuo but its been removed
     
  20. GendR
    Offline

    GendR New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    • Thanks! Thanks! x 1