I have been running a shard since early 2017, and am looking for a bit of advice on implementing a faction system.

By way of context, my vision was, and is, to have an open-world shard based on the feel of Ultimas VI and V, or at least my interpretation. It launched to a bit of fanfare, but the excitement quickly died due to bugs and my not really knowing what I was doing. I played UO for a year and half back in 1997-1998, and would not consider myself an accomplished player. For me it was more about the atmosphere of the game, that it was multiplayer, and that it was set in the Ultima universe. I am likewise not an accomplished coder, though I have managed to hack together something that works, with considerable help from members of the freeshard community. A few players stuck around and helped me work out the major bugs, iron out the kinks, and give me a better idea of providing a sense of progression. The shard is in a pretty good place now, as far as stability and atmosphere, though it still needs a bit of testing in certain areas.

Some time ago, a few of the players who stuck around suggested I add a player managed town system. First a little background on some of the changes I have made...

I implemented a class system based on the professions of the original Ultima series. This is the area that requires the most testing.

I disabled the original housing system, and instead use Knives' Townhouse script. I removed the items from existing houses, and replaced them with statics. I also added quite a few new houses. Players can join one of the various towns and can then purchase a house in that town. They can renounce their citizenship in the town, but must first sell back the house. I have also added talking Ultima lore-related NPCs to various towns.