I have a couple of questions regarding stats and skills.

How do I increase or decrease the starting stats on new characters?

Is it possible to limit how much skill gain is allowed in specific skills by profession?

Thanks

You can set specific skill caps for each skill and you can also set the stats you have in mind in the charactercreation.cs .
Additionally if you want to change the stat cap for each profession you would have to modify the skillcheck.cs

Ok I've looked in charactercreation.cs and found the part I think needs to be edited in order to change the starting Stats on a character. The problem is I am not sure what values I need to be changing. I tried changing the 90 : 80 to 100 : 80 and the result was all newly created characters started with 10 in every Stat.

Code:
private static void SetStats(Mobile m, NetState state, int str, int dex, int intel)
        {
            int max = state.NewCharacterCreation ? 90 : 80;

FixStats(ref str, ref dex, ref intel, max);

if (str < 10 || str > 60 || dex < 10 || dex > 60 || intel < 10 || intel > 60 || (str + dex + intel) != max)
            {
                str = 10;
                dex = 10;
                intel = 10;
            }

m.InitStats(str, dex, intel);
        }

The reason why they are get set to 10 each is because of this part in the if
(str + dex + intel)!= max
Also I think the client itself has the stat point cap hard coded for character creation (I may be wrong) but you could always use something like statballs or call a gump on creation where they have to set their new stats

PyrO is correct, the character creation stat cap is limited by the client. Most shards that want to do this sort of thing just give a stat ball to the player when populating their backpack. I don't see one in our resources section though.

Alright, based on what I've learned here, I have decided to look for another way to allow new characters to start with slightly higher stats.