I've been a low-key developer in UO for a shard that was always more of a personal project between friends, than anything else. As it stands it turned into something that both the owner and myself a very proud of. And it was his suggestion that I dip my toe into freelance work in UO. Since he recognised that I was a creative force and world-builder within our own shard and had an aptitude for many things (XML, design, creative writing, artistic flair and so on). Including the capacity to carry out very large projects on my own.

However, my experience of this has not been positive.

My departure from UO for the last 3 months was due in part to one very negative experience where:
  • An owner of a very successful shard 'hired' me.
  • I talked myself into doing it for free, but was left no option to renegotiate/ignored outright.
  • They designated me with staff powers that meant I was reliant on a person who didn't even know how to save XMLdialog properly, which led to losing hours of work and also track of where the project was.
  • 30-40 hours in total were put into two projects. ( A lot of this dead time, due to his inability to save my work)
  • 80% completion of the epic quest - and another fully automated. My requests for renegotiation or even to save my work was still falling of deaf ears.

And at this point I walked away from it. It was disheartening to know that this owner did not value the effort nor quality of the content I was creating for them. More so, that they felt it perfectly fine to offer nothing for it, beyond "it being great advertisement for my work" Despite this shard having a very profitable income from donations.

To me, this is unscrupulous and dishonest behavior. What made it even worse, is that when they did release. They claimed 100% credit for my work, made a minor post of it on Reddit even. Plus, to make matters more insulting, I also appear no longer to be able access/register their forums either.