Hey guys,

I'm thinking about the possibility of creating dedicated hosting for Ultima Online servers (mainly [Run|Serv]UO). Back when I was a shard admin I struggled a lot with the systems part of setting up all the infrastructure and operations, and I bet that most of the people out there nowadays are still using ad hoc solutions and wasting time reinventing the wheel.

But first of all I would like to double check my assumptions and get some feedback from the community to see if there is an actual demand for this. Would any shard owner (or potential shard owner, or even player) be looking forward to use such a service? My idea is to focus in added value, i.e. not only providing basic dedicated hosting, but also provide things like:
- Private git repo for your server.
- Automated operations such as maintenance restarts, backups, etc.
- Server management using API/Web tools
- Dedicated cloud storage for backups
- Whatever else you may think of that you're currently struggling with

What do you think? Would you be willing to use it? Is there any other thing that is missing but you would like to see in such a service?

I think an ideal service would be something to Digital Ocean, but for shard hosting. Each image could hold a shard with selected options, so anyone could spin up at least a basic server with some customs and with no coding knowledge.

If that's something you have in mind, I'd totally use it.

I think an ideal service would be something to Digital Ocean, but for shard hosting. Each image could hold a shard with selected options, so anyone could spin up at least a basic server with some customs and with no coding knowledge.

If that's something you have in mind, I'd totally use it.

That was exactly what I had in mind. Although I'm not sure what would have more demand, whether long lived instances to host a production shard or small, short lived to play with friends. What do you think?