My wife Talshani and I have been creating a custom map since late 2000. We are finally coming to a point where we feel its complete enough to get things ready for public game play! However, this will not be any time soon just yet.. I have set a goal to launch the shard by mid next year. That might sound like a long time, but we know what happens when opening a shard before its time..

So I wanted to just post some screen shots of some various areas. These were taken just the other day. Nearly everything has been built by hand by Talshani, and the last couple months Milva has been helping fill in some areas :)

This will take a few posts ;)

AncientLegends-Full.jpg

AnderidaBank.jpg AnderidaBees.jpg AnderidaCastle.jpg AnderidaCourtJail.jpg

AnderidaDam.jpg AnderidaDocks.jpg AnderidaUndertaker.jpg BatleShips.jpgCamelaArena.jpg

Well I guess that should give a good idea what the map is like :)

I spent somewhere around 2-3 solid years hand painting the map, could be upwards to 4 years really. Talshani build something like 90% of everything you see. I did build quite a bit though.

We are finally coming to a point, with Milva's help, where we feel the map is coming to completion. We had ran this map live back in 2002-2005, and even though every player loved the shard and map, unfortunately it was just too soon. Players got tired of updating the map files every week and RunUO was so early in its development, I got overloaded with doing web development, scripting and staffing. We burnt out, and ended up having to move cross country. We never have reopened since.