I was driving to work thinking about how out of wack the UO economy gets after some time of being online, and started thinking of an innovative way to fix that before it ever happened on Unbound. What I came up with is quite a great idea in my opinion, so I started coding away.

What I've come up with is a global scalable economy, which is based on the number of accounts and the amount of player owned gold in the world.

How does this work then?

It works much like any real world economy would. More gold owned by the players essentially makes the gold worth less, in turn, they sell their rares and goods at higher costs. Vendors will now do the same.

More gold in the world will scale vendors prices on items to match that of the economy's, completely automated. Not just vendors though, I've went a bit on the extra mile with this. As the economy grows, so will things such as vendor upkeep, town upkeep, guild foundation costs, etc.

Now, just like a real market, a player even has the opportunity to buy vendor goods when the market is low, and sell when it is high, because even the "vendor sell" prices scale with the economy size. Want to get vendor prices lower? Spend your gold! The less gold there is in the economy, the more it is worth and the vendors will adjust back down to normal costs.

Now for the future of Unbound, even if someone were to make millions upon millions, they would spend it at a rate in which the economy would still be normal, and once spent, it will look normal as well.

Anyways, I wanted to let you guys know about this exciting system I'm developing, I have a bit more testing to do, but my algorithm is looking spot on at the moment :)

If you would like to catch more updates on what I'm developing for Unbound, feel free to visit us and sign up on our forums! We still do not have an ETA on release yet, but we are getting closer and closer folks.

www.uounbound.com