Welcome to the community VoidChild. The #1 piece of advice anyone can give you that will provide you with more knowledge then any one person can give you in a sitting. Learn to use search engines and search for your questions and or needs. I'm 90% self taught through this method.
Best of luck!

Edit: Check this thread out for lots of C# books, tutorials and references: http://www.servuo.com/threads/c-tutorials.567/

Last edited:
Trying to learn to gm and code any help tips or pointers would be welcome.
Best advice I can give you about learning to code is to use existing scripts and slowly make changes. Start with little changes first. In most cases, once you get a bit more advanced, you can copy/paste methods from other scripts to build a new script. Some people frown on this as its not "true coding". Note everyone has time to learn a dying language such as C# and even if you do read tons of books and forums about it, what you're dealing with is RunUO/ServUO specific libraries, so not everything will make sense when you try to apply it to a server script. Using the original scripts as a base formula is a great way to get your feet wet. When you want to create something new, try and think of something already in the game that acts in a similar way or contains the main function you're trying to do.

Example:
You want to create an item that when double-clicked from a player's backpack it gives them a special weapon. Take a look at any Deeded item that is not a deco item and you'll have a solid base to start with.

You'll also want to get very familiar with the file structure of whichever server setup you are using (RunUO/ServUO, etc). Another hint, search for and download Agent Ransack. That will be your best tool for searching text strings INSIDE scripts without having to open every single one.