aHi all,

This is my first time jumping into emulation and I'm a little confused around what version of the client I should be using with ServUO.

My goal is a replica shard of Siege Perilous when it first launched (July 1999). So this would include T2A functionality but no Renaissance functionality.

When I used a more recent client version, there were a lot of strange things to me such as the "Haven" town, and all of the land was snow-covered.

I believe there is a version of 5.0.9.1 from Grimoric which I believe he edited to make like T2A, but it doesn't seem to have any seeders.

Anyways I know there's a lot of classic players out there like me so just curious what the best way to accomplish this these days is :)

And a huge THANK YOU for the Siege-mode functionality in ServUO! Will give me a great head start on this and hopefully I can contribute once I get the right client version I am looking for, and learn how to read code and stuff :)

Sorry for the late reply. Your best bet is probably to install UO from disc. You can find a Second Age disc on eBay from around 6 bucks. As far as a server to support that client, you might have to dig back a ways in the archives. I don't think ServUO goes back far enough to avoid even UOR content, but I could be wrong. In any case, there are plenty of old RunUO downloads still around. I remember when I first started coding for RunUO they were at something like v0.36 Beta. Of course, the farther back you go, the more strangeness you will likely encounter with compatibility, especially since the .Net language has changed much over the years.

Thanks Lokai! From what I have seen, the "Classic Client" seems to be a common starting point for shards these days I might go with that and just try to manually remove any out-of-era stuff.