Hi Folks,

I am very new to this emulator stuff, coding, etc...

Last week I got as far as creating a private server and logging in to spawn my world but since then I have misplaced my password. Also, is it necessary to have "Admin" as the username? I believe the tutorial stated to do that but I feel like it makes being hacked easier, if I ever even went public.

So, my questions are:
1. How do I reset my password?
2. How (and should) I change my username from "admin?"

Sorry if this topic has already been posted. I tried searching for it as it seems like it would be a common question but couldn't find any related topics.... I might not be using the search correctly though.

Thanks!

You can use any name you want for the admin account (the demo may have just used admin as an example?). How to change the name... I do not know.

You can change the password from the admin panel in the game - but you have to have the password to login.

Maybe someone knows a way to change it from outside the game (in the files). I would suspect you may have to start over?

Thought I had read in the past, you could go into accounts.xml- and remove the account- save it start the server and it should ask you to create an admin account once again.; If this happens enter any name for the account and password

The only way really is to recover an admin password if you have lost access to all other admin accounts (if it's the only admin account) is to generate a new SH1 hash and stick it into the accounts.xml

For example let's say you have an admin account named bob and you want to change its password.

The accounts.xml file would look something like this:
Code:
	<account>
		<username>Bob</username>
		<newCryptPassword>b3-a9-36-de-29-85-5e-31-b7-ec-5b-2f-d7-b9-59-dd-73-70-52-d3</newCryptPassword>