So New...
I am brand new to running/modifying a UO server. I currently take online classes for software development. I have taken 2 C# classes so far, but I am no expert. I have been trying to get the files straight to host a server on and off for a while now. Thankfully the bazookas posted this video https://www.servuo.com/threads/how-...view-edit-with-visual-studio.3276/#post-21036. I have successfully used this method to host a server on my home computer using Visual Studio and UOSteam with ServUO.

I am not looking for anyone to code anything for me so no worries there. I am honestly just looking for some general info so that I can begin digging. I know from reading through forum posts that there are quite a few competent developers on here.

I have some ideas for individual scripts that I want to write, but I don't think diving in and attempting to code yet is wise. I am hoping to get some info about the game and files themselves before I really do anything.

Technical Information I hope to gather:

1. Any information that can give me a better understanding the UO file structure and how it operates.
2. How to host my server in a way that will allow other computers to connect for testing purposes.
3. The best workflow method for successfully testing and implementing changes without file corruption or newb failures.

Immediate Interests

1. I would to know more about map and gump editing.
2. I want to eliminate some features so that I can have a more simplistic world to work with for now (Things like superfluous skills and all but Fel map areas) This seems like a potential nightmare with the amount of inheritance I have seen in the files thus far.

Potential Future Scripts

1. Custom crafting system (gem armor, new leather types, new ingot types, new wood types.
2. Races (Only thought of a few since this is all so far away)
3. Classes (These would correlate to the races)
4. New Tamables ( I want this to be fully functional including: lore gumps, bonding, AI)