Hello!
I'm a software developer and having the build-run-buildscripts process is just an annoyance. I'd rather build the scripts as part of the (existing) Makefile. I see two options:
- A command line option to compile the scripts before the server is started (I don't think this is supported)
- Move the scripts directly to the "server" code and compile them directly in the executable.

I don't care about being able to edit the scripts once the server is started, I'll have a deployment pipeline for that purpose. What I do care though is getting compile-time errors for the scripts when I compile, instead of when I run the server.

I'd like to also add some automated testing for some core part of my scripts, as such having those in the traditional build pipeline of a C# software makes things easier.

Did anyone achieve this already and have some well-known gotchas to mention before I attempt this feat completely clueless? :eek::p

If you haven't changed anything in the scripts, they don't get compiled again. If you have a live server and a development server, they'll get compiled once on the live one when you deploy changes and you know they're ok because you tested it on the other box first. Compiling might add 15-20 seconds max to the startup time on any relatively decent box.

If you really want to recompile the exe every time you change a script, you can do it that way too, as you described. Move the scripts into the server core and compile. All the scripts will be present and the exe will start without compiling anything else at runtime.

Some people do their work in Visual Studio to test their changes in real time. I'm not that advanced; I use an ancient plain text editor (Programmer's File Editor) and test my changes by starting the server!