I have no prior experience with neither RunUO nor ServUO and I'd like to start from scratch. That is, I'd like to take the server component and write all the scripts from the ground up. How can I do that? Just deleting the contents of Scripts/ doesn't work. Thanks!

Well that will be a lot of work to build again, but you would need to take the scripts folder and remove it.
After that you would need to change the ScriptCompiler.cs at line 158 so it won't return and therefor stop the server, recompile and you can start. Now you will get errors but you would need to work this out on your end.

I'd just like to point out, in case OP isn't aware, that deleting the Scripts folder is a terrible idea unless you absolutely know what you're getting yourself into. If you are not an expert in C# already or do not have hundreds of hours to waste on rebuilding extremely fundamental scripts, I'd strongly advise against taking this route.

Thanks everyone who answered. I've gotten a bit more familiar with ServUO last night and I see that there is a lot of core functionality laid out in the Scripts/ folder. There is just a lot to delete if I'm going to do a Renaissance server.

To get a basically functional UOR server or earlier server, might not be quite as much work as you'd think. Setting the core expansion to UOR will do a lot of the work for you, though there will still be a lot of work to do depending on the level of detail you want to be accurate to. Core.UOR is somewhat accurate to publish 16 OSI.

To get a basically functional UOR server or earlier server, might not be quite as much work as you'd think. Setting the core expansion to UOR will do a lot of the work for you, though there will still be a lot of work to do depending on the level of detail you want to be accurate to. Core.UOR is somewhat accurate to publish 16 OSI.

Yes I'm aware of that now, I just want to get rid of unused scripts and code altogether :)

Last edited: