This has been a constant unanswered issue for me over the years..
What is a good skill and stat cap for a shard?

I have been working on my shard since 2000 in one way or another , and over all these years I have never really come to a solid decision to what these caps should really be. I have always maintained fairly close game mechanics to the traditional Ultima game. I like to keep things balanced as best I know how.

There are tons of shards out there that have higher caps, some with unlimited skills you can learn, others with crazy formulas that give multiple GM's but low caps for all the rest, allowing many skills to be used by a single character.. etc.

So I really want to open the floor to everyone's idea of what skill and stat caps should be, and why they have increased them if you have. For example, if you allow 10 skills at 120, what reason did you have for the increase, and how has it worked out?

So lets hear about your skill/stat caps, and how they work out for your shard and players~!

*Also, if you like, I have the same question relating to pet slots. Do you keep them at 5 pet slots, and why?

I personally feel the OSI caps are fine, provided you are using soulstones. I find it confusing to have too many skills on a single character at a time. It also makes pvp much more difficult to balance (even pvm to an extent).

I have played on some shards that have a higher skill cap. They are fun for a while, but I guess I prefer simple systems.

I had extra pet slots on my shard, but they had to have herding skill to increase the slots. It worked fairly well. You want to boost melee combat for players or you become another shard full of tamers.

My 2 cents...

Good points, I pretty well agree. I feel that the OSI caps are fine too.. or I guess should say, those caps are the base line to the balance they have.